Big Box of Citrus: Week 2

by Erin

  • Explore someplace new
  • Be inspired
  • Read a classic
  • Try a new recipe (theme 2 of 6)
  • (Re)connect
  • Get selfishly creative (project 1 of 12)

Another week and more citrus…

It inspired some “art”this week:

“#1 Self Portait: Shadow and Citrus.”  – Grapefruit bears a striking resemblance to a 25 1/2 week pregnant belly.

“#2 Self Portrait: Consuming and Consumed” – I have fruit on the brain so often now I am even dreaming of  these little yellow and orange spheres.

bellydream

I took on another smoothie: 1 pink grapefruit, 1 cup frozen blueberries, 1 banana. This one was better than the last, although I am not sure grapefruit will be a staple to my smoothie recipes in the future. I threw in yogurt, 1/2 cup of spinach, and 1/4 cup tofu to round it out more nutritionally. At the last minute I put in a heaping gob of some mango sorbet that we had on hand. The crazy straw added some nice photo flair, but proved impossible to drink from.

chiffon

It was time to go grocery shopping but we didn’t get around to it. Why not orange ricotta pancakes? (It just so happened we did have ricotta, go figure.) I replaced the raspberries in the syrup with blueberries that’s what we had. I also added more orange juice to the batter to thin it out and give it more orange flavor. This was excellent. Although, with the ricotta and the berries this may not be an in-a-pinch recipe. In the future I would just adapt my typical pancake recipe. (RR Author) Graham recommended replacing milk with orange juice then adding ginger, cinnamon, and chocolate chips. With more fruit to go, that may show up in the rotation the next few weeks, too.

pancake

And yes. Sometimes I do actually eat the grapefruit as is. Not the normal way people eat it in neatly packed triangles. I like to dig in and get really juicy as I tear the pulp away from its white encasement.

“And what are the health benefits to such a snack?” you may ask. Apparently grapefruits have over 73% of your daily value of vitamin C, which helps the immune system. Twenty four percent of your vitamin A is in there, too, which does good things all around your body.  In addition, red and pink grapefruits have cancer-fighting lycopene. Do a quick search and you can find so many more benefits to eating grapefruit. Even when you eat it the messiest way possible.

Capture

I adapted a lemon vinaigrette recipe to make an orange dressing for a salad. Dressing: juice from 1/2 orange, zest from 1/2 orange, 1/2 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar, salt and pepper. Salad: mixed citrus over mixed greens and some sunflower seeds.

peelssalad

After some scoping out the produce section, I am pretty sure we were delivered some tangelos and pink grapefruit. These went into another citrus salad and (as if I needed more citrus around) I also bought two blood oranges just to make the colors a bit more interesting. It was good, but I much prefer unadulterated fruit.salad

We had some frosting left over from that orange chiffon cake I made previously. Spread on graham crackers, it made a nice little sweet treat in the middle of the day. The frosting recipe is here. I added about 1/2 cup of orange juice to it because I had some left over and I wanted the frosting to taste orange-y.

graham

Number of fruits remaining: 27

One comment

Leave a Reply

