*BLAM*: Poetry

I tend to get ideas that hit like *BLAM* out of nowhere. I don’t get inklings and then stew on them and grow them up over time. And once I get an idea in my head it dominates my thoughts day and night until I do something about it. That’s kind of what happened with this blog. I was laying there all quietlike in bed at a decent hour then *BLAM*. I was up until one in the morning writing and planning and making lists.

So here’s another *BLAM* that I am doing something about immediately. I want more poetry in my life. I can feel poetry and I can react to it but I want to be more thoughtful about reading poetry. This is kind of what this blog is for. When inspiration hits to change something in your life, this is the forum to talk about your plans and progress. No matter what time of year.

But, in case you haven’t noticed, I have six other “resolutions” that I am plowing into. So this is my place holder. Either for 2014 or when I no longer have a resolution list. In the meantime…who are your favorite poets/poems? I have my list, but one always needs to expand. Also, for those of you literary folk out there…any suggestions on ways to approach poetry or essays/books that may give my an idea on how to approach poetry more cerebrally and less from the gut? Not that I want to lose the gut reaction, it is just that I want to add a little more oomph to my reading.

3 comments

  1. My honors English teacher in senior year killed poetry for me, I think he added meanings from his own twisted soul and was not the type to suffer those who disagreed with him. Any suggestions to resurrect poor, lamented poetry?

    1. No clue. I think poetry has to be personal. It’s about how you feel and react to it. I’m keeping an eye out for new ways to approach it, but by no means do I plan on picking apart every detail of a piece and uber-analyzing it. Maybe I’ll get a little grounding into a poet’s life before reading some of his/her work to give context?

Leave a Reply

