Great Gatsby Goodness

by Erin

  • Explore someplace new
  • Be inspired
  • Read a classic (book 1 of 4)
  • Try a new recipe
  • (Re)connect
  • Get selfishly creative

He had one of those rare smiles with a quality of eternal reassurance in it, that you may come across four or five times in life. It faced, or seemed to face, the whole external world for an instant and then concentrated on you with an irresistible prejudice in your favor. It understood you just as far as you wanted to be understood, believed in you as you would like to believe in yourself.

–F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

My first classic book reading of the year was as enjoyable as anticipated. I had started reading The Great Gatsby when I was twelve? thirteen? and didn’t make it much past the first chapter. I understand why, having read the first chapter again. But with maturity comes persistence and learning. I knew that often first chapters (at least, for me) can be slow. It marks the transition from one book to another. It’s a change of writing style, a change of fictional friends, a new adventure. This time I transitioned from teen fiction (The Fault in Our Stars by John Green) to The Great Gatsby. Talk about a shift.

As I persisted, I finally found myself becoming invested in the characters and their goings-on by the third or fourth chapter. I was hooked on Fitzgerald’s flair for description and curious about this Gatsby character. From then on, I took up the book at a normal pace until the end. I won’t go into a full on critique or review. There are so many out there to choose from and I am WAY out of practice since I left college. I’ll leave it with: thoroughly enjoyable. I still think about the story and I am still working on my opinion of Gatsby himself. Like him, or not? I guess that’s one of the goals of the book.

Have you read The Great Gatsby? What are your thoughts on the man? On the book?

And now a little “fun” for you:

  • I hate to be one who reads books because movies based on the books are coming out, but I’ll admit this was the impetus for choosing GG from my list of choices. The film is directed by Baz Luhrmann and I’m kind of a fan. I knew I would see it, so I wanted to make sure I read the book first. Here’s the trailer if you haven’t seen it yet.
  • Want to test your GG knowledge? Take this quiz.
  • My goal is four classics by the end of the year. I am currently working on The Jungle by Upton Sinclair. Help me choose the remaining two by voting here.

 

 

3 comments

  1. There is something about the writing style that as a non-expert I can’t quite put my finger on. There are moments where it is dreamlike or somewhat ethereal…though not quite…but I am not surprised to hear that Hunter S. Thompson was drawn to it in someway. I think that’s why Baz Luhrmann will be a good fit of for the film, too. With it being an easy read, I would recommend picking it up again if you have time. I have to imagine that the connection would be totally different as an adult reader.

Leave a Reply

