Headed West

by Erin

  • Explore someplace new
  • Be inspired
  • Read a classic
  • Try a new recipe
  • (Re)connect (connection 5 of 12)
  • Get selfishly creative

It has been about two years since I have seen my grandmother, aunt, uncle, and cousins. It has been about ten years since I have visited them in their home state. With Spring Break underway and the prospect of five days of Kid and I together, I thought this was a great opportunity to attempt the trip.

The obvious reconnection here was with these extended family members. While we created many fresh memories together, the two biggest things I left with were some new knitting skills and a deeper understanding of how we all relate and connect to each other. I won’t be sharing intimate secrets, but it is funny how family can give you perspective into who you are.

The hidden connection was with Kid. Twelve hours of car travel will do that to you. I saw greater evidence that he loves books (though he can’t read) and I vowed to keep fostering that love. I also reaffirmed my belief that appropriate amounts of sleep make for happier kids. This one was solidified from somewhere in Illinois all the way home when a dropped water bottle snowballed into an hour long meltdown that also included the loss of a shoe and insistence that we were NOT close to home.

Car trips. They are good for connecting on the road and at your final destination.

Now go visit your grandmother.

Leave a Reply

